## **CUPE 3287**

## Special Membership Meeting - Pre-Ratification Information Meeting

June 1, 2023 at 3:00pm Health Science room 1B11 and via Zoom

Present: W. Buschert, J. Klassen, E. Arvanitis-Zorbas, P. Bulas, B. Gulka, C. Burlingham, E. Shia, P. Ahiahonu, S. Stavrou, L. Chang, J. McDonald, E. Morris, L. Ehrlich, B. Zamulinski, S. Brandon, E. Hulse, S. Brazier-Thomspon, G. McConnell, G. Tebutt, J. Berkenbrock, D McLean Belyk, M. Burles, C. Brady, C. Zawada, R. Matlock, C. Priebe, W. Baijius, W. Bauer (CUPE National)

- 1. Motion to Adopt the Agenda: B. Gulka moves, L. Chang seconds; agenda adopted.
- 2. Reading of the Equality Statement: Read by W. Buschert.
- **3. Motion to accept new members:** W. Buschert shows the names of the new members. W. Buschert moves to accept the new members, J. Klassen seconds; carried.
- 4. Presentation of Proposed Memorandum of Agreement & Voting:
  - a. W. Buschert explains the process that the Negotiating Committee has gone through over the last two years with respect to bargaining. The MOA is explained: 1. There are some technical changes with respect to updating language. 2. New and clear rules respecting teaching assessments and performance reviews 3. Pay increase: 0% for 2021, 3% each year for 2022 through 2024 (starting September 1, 2022).
  - b. The voting process will occur through email. Every member will receive an email through their usask email account that will contain links and instructions to vote. The poll opens at 5:00pm today and will remain open until 11:59pm on Saturday, June 3, 2023.
- 5. Questions from members: An issue was raised about those who do not have a valid usask email account (the Employer closes the account after a sessional lecturer stops teaching but they remain part of our Local for 2 years). If members no longer have a valid usask email address, they are to contact the Local and will receive a different link after their membership has been verified. Notice respecting this will be sent out via email to all members and posted on the Local's website.
- 6. Adjournment: L. Erhlich